Resurrection! (With a side of biscotti.)

Three years have passed since my last blog post and from time-to-time, I have thought about updating this site on more than one occasion.  But as with most things in life…it happens (life, that is).  During my hiatus from the blogosphere, I have continued to experiment in the kitchen with savory and sweets; some good, some bad, and some downright weird.  But each experience was an opportunity to learn, improve and refine.  Inspired by Alice Waters and her philosophy of utilizing fresh organic produce and herbs in cooking, I have also started my own vegetable garden at home and participate in a local non-profit community garden.  Now, I await each season, excited to harvest vegetables and fruits to experience food as it was meant to be eaten:  seasonal and fresh. It’s been very rewarding (and a lot of hard work) and I am grateful to my teachers, and for the experience.

It is only fitting that I “kick off” this post by reviewing and sharing a “sweet” recipe.  My latest obsession (and I am not alone) is Pinterest.  It’s like having the Encyclopedia Britannica of all things creative at your fingertips.  Hours fly by like minutes when searching for the world’s best brownie recipe (enticing photograph included).  Last night, I suddenly found myself searching for biscotti recipes on Pinterest.  What led me to search for biscotti in particular, I will never remember.  Unless I diligently peruse my browsing history, but I digress.  I found the following recipe for chocolate and pistachio biscotti cookies from none other than La dame Martha Stewart. I tweaked the recipe slightly and omitted the pistachios and instead, incorporated sliced almonds and sprinkled some sea salt on the loaves prior to baking.  I was pretty impressed with the result, and after experiencing how easy these were to make, I think I have purchased my last packaged biscotti cookie.  Here’s the link to the original recipe.  I would recommend baking the cut biscotti for roughly 20 minutes (instead of the recommended 8 minutes in the recipe), to get a bit more crunch.  The biscotti can be stored in airtight container for at least a couple of weeks (if they last that long!).

http://www.marthastewart.com/356047/chocolate-pistachio-biscotti

DSC_0010 DSC_0008

Leave a Reply

