Indian Fusion: Deep Dish Chaat Pizza

There’s a great hole-in-the-wall pizza joint in Fremont called “Pizza and Curry” and they have a pretty phenomenal Mango Chaat Pizza that we indulge in, a couple of times a year.  I bet you are thinking:  chaat and pizza?  Oh yes and how.  This pizza combines the best of chaat, with it’s complex spices and tartness, with the sacred pizza.  The result is an epicurean love child.  The only hitch is that the pizza can be hit or miss, in terms of spiciness.  Now, I love me some spice, and lately, the mango chaat pizza has been a bit bland for my tastes.  I did a quick Bing search and found a fabulous recipe that replicates the famous pizza, pretty darn well.

I’ve made this pizza, with a few tweaks now twice, and the second time I decided to make a deep dish version in…you guessed it…a cast iron skillet!  The best part about this pizza is that you can prep a day in advance (i.e. make the dough and refrigerate it, chop up the vegetables, and make the sauce), and final assembly and baking takes maybe half an hour.  It is so worth it to make your own pizza dough and I have been using a standard recipe that I found on Food.com.  I follow this recipe, with the addition of spices to the dough.

http://www.food.com/recipe/beths-pizza-crust-13546

*To add some flavor and spice to the dough, I add the following spices (to taste):  dried oregano, dried basil, Italian seasoning, and crushed red pepper.  For a standard 10-inch cast iron pan, you can easily divide the dough into 2 parts, and save the second, for use later.  A 10-inch pan yields 4 pieces (enough for 2).

DSC_0159

I follow the Mango Chaat Pizza recipe exactly as it’s noted below,and the results are simply to.die.for.

http://food52.com/recipes/18169-mango-chaat-pizza

DSC_0160 DSC_0158 DSC_0156 DSC_0163 DSC_0168 DSC_0172

 

Leave a Reply

