Sweets and Savories for Diwali Part I

DSC_0607 (1)

I might as well wave the white flag now:  from now through New Year’s Eve, it is going to be a gluttonous couple of months.  Salads and juice cleanses will have to go on the back burner.  But what are celebrations without food (and good food at that)?  Moderating is going to be a tough task!

This week I’ve been looking up recipes for Diwali, the Indian “festival of lights” (about Diwali), and started to make a few goodies as Diwali gifts that I plan to give family and friends over the next couple of weeks.  Mathri or fried salted crackers, are one of my favorite savory Indian snacks.  I fell in love with them years ago, when I had them for the first time, during our wedding festivities.  The savory taste of the crackers balance out the rich sweetness of Indian sweets, and they go so well with spicy Indian pickles and a cup of chai.  I found a very easy recipe for mathris, which I have included below.  I used my poori press to flatten the discs before frying, which made the whole process a piece-of-cake.

Simple Mathri Recipe:  http://whatscookingmom.in/mathri/

*I fried the crackers for a good 3-4 minutes on medium heat to get the color to a deep golden brown, and to ensure that the mathris were crispy.  To store the mathris, make sure that they have cooled down completely before putting them in an airtight container.  The mathris should stay fresh for a couple of weeks.

DSC_0617

DSC_0604 (1)

Leave a Reply

