Pumpkin Cheesecake Bread – A New Fall Favorite

DSC_0321

Fall is in the air:  Halloween displays are starting to pop up in stores and pumpkin treats abound at local coffee shops and bakeries.  I’ll be honest, I am not a huge fan of pumpkin in the form of pie, but I do enjoy a bit of pumpkin flavor in muffins and cakes.  In perusing Pinterest, I came across this lovely pumpkin and cream cheese bread recipe.  It sounded irresistible (particularly because it incorporates cream cheese), so I gave the recipe a try.  The result:  a wonderful sweet and spice-filled cake, with just a hint of pumpkin, that’s the perfect accompaniment to post-dinner coffee.   Cold days and nights have never been better!

Cream-cheese Filled Pumpkin Bread

http://www.averiecooks.com/2014/08/cream-cheese-filled-pumpkin-bread.html

*I could not find pumpkin pie spice, so I substituted it for all-spice, which worked fine.  I would recommend baking the cake for 60 minutes.  The 48 minute bake time in the recipe is an approximate.

I used parchment paper to line the pan for quicker clean up.  Cream cheese layer shown below.  As mentioned in the recipe, ensure that the entire surface area is covered with cream cheese, including the corners.  A table knife works great to spread the cream cheese.

DSC_0307

After the final layer of batter.  Just as with the cream cheese later, ensure that the entire surface area on top of the cream cheese layer is covered, including the corners.

DSC_0309

DSC_0317

Leave a comment